The Reality of It

oct 13 2015 4:31

So today in my theatre class there were 2 others sitting by me. One was wearing a Whitmer shirt and the other had said he went to Central Catholic. Before the lecture started, we were sitting and talking. I was wearing a black ottawa hills soccer jacket but my hair was covering the logo. As I moved my hair off it, there was a shift in the air and the Central kid says, “oh Ottawa Hills?” and the boy with the Whitmer shirt slips the words, “rich girl” out while the Central kid lets out a quiet laugh. I sat there dumbfounded by what he said for a moment. Then realizing the situation I sat down and said nothing. As class progressed, I thought about it more and more. For those of you who know the reality of the situation, you know where I’m heading. I could have responded by saying, “Oh, Whitmer. “poor boy.” but thats not the reality of it. The reality of it is that while my parents pay a property tax that includes my education, the Central boys parents pay 10k per year for him to go there on top of a property tax. That is more than my college tuition. The reality of it is that the Whitmer boys parents pay a property tax that includes his education as well. The reality of it is that our parents pay for it. Which then means the reality of it is that I am no more a “rich girl” than he is a “poor boy.” I pay for everything I want with my job except my phone and my education falls into that. No, my parents didn’t pay tuition and no, my parents did not pay for my text books. Yes, my parents have supported me and continue to. But no, not that its any of your business, I am not a rich girl. You are not a poor boy. The playing surface is equal.

Leave a Reply

